The best books of 2016

reading-in-review

The time has come, where everyone is frantically posting their favourite books of 2016 and after hours of deciding and changing my favourite books of this year i have finally come up with a list that i’m pretty happy with. I have to say, this year i read a lot of books that i throughly enjoyed and gave a five stars on goodreads but there were only a few books that i believed were the best of the best for this year. I’m 3 books behind my goodreads schedule of 35 books but i’m really happy with all the books that i did read this year. Although i know next year will be a hectic one for me (because i’m starting to prepare for the HSC) i hope that i’ll be able to do read more of a variety of books and venture out to read different authors and genres. I’d also just like to say thank you to all you who have followed, commented or liked my blog because it means the word to me. Only this year i started to post more regularly and i have put more effort into my blog and i’m glad i did it because it makes me so happy that other people are enjoying reading just as much as i love creating my posts.

*I have taken inspiration from Alexandra from twirlingpages to come up with my list because it was hard to just randomly pick my favourites of this year.

favourite first in a series: Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare

Lady Midnight was exactly the book i needed at the start of this year. It was SOO GOOD. I loved how much Cassandra Clare’s writing improved in Lady Midnight and this is my favourite first book of all her series. I especially loved the glimpses of other characters from her previous series that got cameos in Lady Midnight. If you’ve read ALL of Cassie’s other books (i mean ALL of them because then you’ll get the full experience of Lady Midnight) then you must read Lady Midnight!

favourite conclusion of a series: Winter by Marissa Meyer

I started this series in 2014 and every single book from this series had been on my favourite’s list because this books are just so compelling and the characters are just so delightful. I read Winter at the very beginning of this year and i STILL talk about it so i guess that explains how much i love it.

favourite standalone: Finding Audrey by Sophie Kinsella

I’ve read a tonne of standalone’s this year because i love reading contemporary’s and most of them are standalones but i have to say Finding Audrey was the one that made this list because i adored the writing and especially the small moments where we got a script of the video that Audrey was taking because that script constantly had me laughing.

favourscreen-shot-2016-12-29-at-3-35-29-pmite cover: Everything Everything by Nicola Yoon

Everything Everything was one of the many gorgeous cover’s of 2016. I wish i had a physical copy of the book because it sooo pretty. I love the small flowers drawn around the writing and the white background just makes it look so aesthetically pleasing *sighs*.

favourite friendship: Six of CroProcessed with VSCO with c1 presetws by                                          Leigh Bardugo

The entire crew from Six of Crows were what most people would say as #squad goals because they really are. I love the unexpectedness of their friendship and i love the journey of the friendship too. I freaking LOVED their dynamic and the dialogue was just soo good! I really recommend Six of Crows, not only for the friendship but also for the amazing world and plot that Leigh Bardugo had created.

              favourite new author: Sabba Tahir (An Ember in the Ashes)

Everything about Sabaa Tahir’s writing style had me in awe. I loved her writing style, her characters and especially the amazing word she created. An Ember in the Ashes was one of those books that had me captivated for the entirely of the book and i cannot wait to read the rest of the books in this series!

favourite book if the year: A court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J Mass

Sarah J Mass is the QUEEN of writing fae. I’ve never read a book dedicated to fae’s and all that comes with but my god does Sarah write them to be your favourite fantasy creatures. I read Empire of Storms this year too but i didn’t love it as much as ACOMF which is why it didn’t make t on my favourites list. I love ACOMF so much because of how much Feyre’s character developed and how confident she became and not to mention how much i love Ryhs now after learning so much about him. And cannot wait for the final book in this trilogy!

What were your favourite books of 2016? Let Me know in the comments!

xx
Taraana

 

 

Leave a Reply

